Books On Our Radar: The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

Books On Our Radar: The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson was just brought to my attention from the lovely Christy, of Tales of the Ravenous Reader, and I hold her opinion highly. She immediately said that I “NEEDED to read this book”, so I looked it up and told her that I was making it my post for today! More people need to know about this modern day young adult Gatsby retelling! I am definitely one of those who loved most of my required reading way back in high school, unless it was Dickens, not so much, but The Great Gatsby was one of my favorites. Obsessed, I read it at least 5 times the year it was required. Just something about the book really threw me for a loop and also intrigued me. If there is a book everyone I know is raving about, but I never heard of it before, that is exactly the kind of book a BOOR post should be about! As bloggers, we shouldn’t just be talking about all the heavily marketed books, but also the small dreamers, the books that hit home, the creative works of art! I LOVE BOOKS! Okay, I am finished, but I need this book, like yesterday, but I will wait patiently until it releases on May 9th, 2017!

 

The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

Category: Young Adult, Contemporary, Retellings
Publication: May 9th, 2017; Sky Pony Press
Purchase: Amazon

Words are weapons. Facts can be manipulated. And nothing is absolute—especially right and wrong.

Tanner McKay is at Bannerman Prep for only one reason: the elite school recruited him after he brought his public school’s debate team to victory last year. Bannerman wants a championship win. Debate is Tanner’s life—his ticket out of his poor-as-dirt life and family drama, straight to a scholarship to Stanford and the start of a new, better future.

But when he’s paired with the Duke, his plans for an easy ride seem as if they’ve hit the rails. The Duke is the quintessential playboy, beloved by everyone for his laissez-faire attitude, crazy parties, and seemingly effortless favors.

And a total no-show when it comes to putting in the work to win.

But as Tanner gets sucked into the Duke’s flashy world, the thrill of the high life and the adrenaline of existing on the edge becomes addictive. A small favor here and there seems like nothing in exchange for getting everything he ever dreamed of.

But the Duke’s castle is built on shady, shaky secrets, and the walls are about to topple down.

A contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, Katie Nelson’s taut debut is perfect for fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska, Kate Brian’s Private series, and anyone who’s encountered the cut-throat world of competitive high school.

 

One Comment

  1. Christy Hayes
    March 29, 2017

    I loved everything about this story from the characters (two boys as main characters and a supporting female, same as in the original), to the setting (the Bay Area!), to the role snacks play in the story (and the fact that Katie brought me matching snacks!). The writing is wonderful. This book is a great modernization of the classic story, set within a prep school and under the pressure of debate team. LOVED IT SO MUCH