Blog Tour & Giveaway: eBooks versus Paper – The Great Debate in Honor of The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

Blog Tour & Giveaway: eBooks versus Paper –
The Great Debate in Honor of
The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

To celebrate tomorrow’s release of The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson we are going to debate which is better, eBooks or paper! Debating plays a role in The Duke of Bannerman Prep and I thought it would be fun to research and give some pointers on which reading platforms people prefer!

 

The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

Category: Young Adult, Contemporary, Retellings
Publication: May 9th, 2017; Sky Pony Press
Purchase: Amazon, B&N, Indiebound

Words are weapons. Facts can be manipulated. And nothing is absolute—especially right and wrong.

Tanner McKay is at Bannerman Prep for only one reason: the elite school recruited him after he brought his public school’s debate team to victory last year. Bannerman wants a championship win. Debate is Tanner’s life—his ticket out of his poor-as-dirt life and family drama, straight to a scholarship to Stanford and the start of a new, better future.

But when he’s paired with the Duke, his plans for an easy ride seem as if they’ve hit the rails. The Duke is the quintessential playboy, beloved by everyone for his laissez-faire attitude, crazy parties, and seemingly effortless favors.

And a total no-show when it comes to putting in the work to win.

But as Tanner gets sucked into the Duke’s flashy world, the thrill of the high life and the adrenaline of existing on the edge becomes addictive. A small favor here and there seems like nothing in exchange for getting everything he ever dreamed of.

But the Duke’s castle is built on shady, shaky secrets, and the walls are about to topple down.

A contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, Katie Nelson’s taut debut is perfect for fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska, Kate Brian’s Private series, and anyone who’s encountered the cut-throat world of competitive high school.

 

Pre-order Incentive:

Email proof of purchase and your address to katie@katienelson.com by May 8th to receive a signed bookplate and bookmark.

 


eBooks versus Paper – The Great Debate in Honor of The Duke of Bannerman Prep

Debating plays an important role in The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson, and so I decided to put together my own poll and debate as to whether people prefer eBooks to Paper books in this wholly digital age.

So my Twitter poll completely surprised me out of 65 total votes physical paper books was a clear winner with 80% of the vote! I was shocked. For me I buy a lot of physical books, but I thought I was in the minority. Mostly because even though I buy the paper, I prefer to read eBooks, as long as I don’t have a headache. If I have a headache I am usually not reading at all.

Just to make sure my little poll wasn’t skewed, I noticed that The Literacy Box was having the same poll as me, at about the same time, and they too had overwhelming results, 91% for physical books! Their pole was out of 481 votes so an even larger set of data.

 

Now I am going to list a few pros for both eBook and Paper book reading…and instead of focusing on the negatives, you can decide which pros may be negativisms for your personal style…and ultimately decide which you prefer.

eBooks:

Pros:

  • Convenient
  • Storage
  • Portable
  • Highlighting
  • Searchable text
  • Faster reading (source)
  • Content is easily accessible

Physical Paper Books:

Pros:

  • Easier on your eyes
  • That feel of pages between your fingers
  • Book smell
  • Bookstagram
  • Signatures
  • Beauty of a bookshelf
  • Nostalgia
  • Better retention of content (source)
  • Sleep Better (source)

 

So what do you prefer?! I personally read more on ebooks, but I buy more physcial books, and lately I want all the audiobooks ever! 

 

Giveaway:

Signed finished copy of The Duke of Bannerman Prep and Gatsby related swag. U.S. Only. Ends May 8th 11:59pm.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio: Katie A. Nelson

Katie Nelson has always loved words and stories. Formerly a high school English and Debate teacher, she now lives in Northern California with her husband, four children, and hyperactive dog.

Website  **  Twitter  **  Goodreads

 

Tour Schedule:

For more fun posts be sure to check out all the other stops on the tour!

May 2nd

The YA Book Traveler – Snacks to Pair with The Duke of Bannerman Prep

Girl in the Pages – Gatsby vs The Duke: Themes the Books Share

 

May 3rd

YA and Wine – Wines During Prohibition & Now

Take Me Away to a Great Read – Bookish Gatsby Merch to Add to Your Collection

 

May 4th

Mama Reads Blog – Bannerman Prep Party Playlist

Tales of the Ravenous Reader – 5 Reasons You’ll Love The Duke

 

May 5th

YAWednesdays – Modern Day Gatsby Apparel

Books, Boys, and Blogs – Best of: Quotes from Duke & Things Every Gatsby Lover Should Have

 

May 8th

NovelNovice – Fun Facts About Gatsby to Know Before Reading The Duke of Bannerman Prep

BookCrushin – eBooks versus Paper – The Great Debate in Honor of The Duke of Bannerman Prep

 

9 Comments

  1. Kristy P.
    May 8, 2017

    For actual “reading”, I prefer audio first, and then ebook. Audio is so handy that I’ll even listen to ones with awful narrators. I read paper VERY slowly, but I do think my comprehension and memory retention are far better with paper. I guess my mind wonders less (especially less than it does with audio).

    But I love hardcovers on my shelves! So, I often have three versions of a book (very cost effective LOL).

    Reply
    • kelly
      May 8, 2017

      I hear that Kristy! I almost always have at least 2 versions as most of my physical books are signed, and I don’t like reading those due to it’s now a special copy! But yes audio has become my thing, but I still can’t handle mechanical narrators…yet.

      Reply
    • Christy Hayes
      May 8, 2017

      One of us. One of us.

      Reply
  2. Audrey Stewart
    May 8, 2017

    My favorite is Daisy Buchanan.

    Reply
    • kelly
      May 8, 2017

      Daisy is the best character in the book!

      Reply
  3. Christy
    May 8, 2017

    AUDIO (and ebooks) 4EVA.

    Reply
    • kelly
      May 8, 2017

      I think we are in the minority. Like last night I wanted to lay down, but I couldn’t keep reading the physical book I was reading in bed, because of lighting and that massive book falling on my face as I sleep might give me a bloody nose! LOL So I of course started reading an ebook before sleepies…

      Reply
  4. Ashley- Mama Reads
    May 8, 2017

    I’m with you, I’m more into audiobooks, mostly because of headaches and migraines and the ability to do more while “reading.” however, I do read a lot of ebooks, but I’ve finally decided I’m always going to prefer physical books, even if my house looks like a used bookstore with stacks everywhere 🙂

    Reply
  5. Krysti Meyer
    May 8, 2017

    I used to STRONGLY be on team paper books. But since becoming a book blogger, ebooks are so nice. Especially when you have a lot of eARCs to get through. But I do love me some audiobooks! I usually just buy physical copies for my bookshelves, but I don’t let anyone touch them!

    Reply

Tell us what you think!

%d bloggers like this: