Author Archives: kelly

Book Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2) by Michelle Hodkin

Author: Michelle Hodkin (website, twitter) Published: October 23, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Romance Pages 544 Synopses Goodreads Purchase here  Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past. She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been […]

Mixtape: Halloween Edition

October, the month of fallen leaves, costumes, free candy, and things that go bump in the night. Which is why I love reading horror and supernatural books this month. So far I have read Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2), Outpost (Razorland #2), Walking Dead Vol. 3 & Alice in Zombieland all very good & very zombie! Next horror book on my TBR list is The […]

Cover Crush: Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

How could Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black not be a cover crush? That mesmerizing red petal tutu creates a beautiful scene of fantasy and danger that awaits this ballerina. Plus I love the feeling of loss it evokes with the petals floating away while her hands are outstretched as if she is giving in to the demons that are at the […]

New Release: Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5)

Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5) by Tahereh Mafi Released October 2, 2012 Published Harper Collins 150 pages Purchase here Perfect for fans of Shatter Me who are desperately awaiting the release of Unravel Me, this novella-length digital original will bridge the gap between these two novels from the perspective of the villain we all love to hate, Warner, the ruthless […]

Book Review: Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2)

 Author: Kendare Blake (blog, twitter, website)  Genre: Young Adult/paranormal romance/horror  Publication: August 7, 2012, Tor Teen  Pages: 332  synopsis from Goodreads  It’s been months since the ghost of Anna Korlov opened a door to Hell in her basement and disappeared into it, but ghost-hunter Cas Lowood can’t move on.  His friends remind him that Anna sacrificed herself so that Cas could live—not […]

Dreamworks Acquires Another YA Fantasy Series – The Grisha Trilogy

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in Books in the news | Comments Off on Dreamworks Acquires Another YA Fantasy Series – The Grisha Trilogy

Dreamworks has just announced that they have picked up the movie rights to the New York Times best selling book Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. It seems like every time you turn around another YA book is having their film rights acquired but what makes this news so exciting is that David Heyman, who was the producer of the Harry Potter franchise, […]

Mixtape: The Iron Fey Series

Posted by on September 07, 2012 in Mixtape | Comments Off on Mixtape: The Iron Fey Series

To go along with our Iron Fey theme I’ve come up with a mix-tape that evokes all things nevernever, devious, and yes earth shatteringly beautiful. What are some of your favorite songs that make you think of fae themed books? Let us know in the comments.     Cathedral Park – Wisdom Tooth Special Death – Mirah I’ll Make You […]

All About Fae: Celebrating the Release of The Iron Legends

Posted by on September 05, 2012 in Book Crush of the Month | Comments Off on All About Fae: Celebrating the Release of The Iron Legends

When my BFF Shannon tells me to read a book that she loved, I know I will like it, or fall head over heels in love with it. So it was no surprise then that after her recommendation to read the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa I fell madly in love.  In celebration of the release of the anthology The Iron Legends we […]

Boy Crush(es) of the month Iron Fey Edition: Prince Ash vs. Puck

Posted by on September 05, 2012 in Character Crush | Comments Off on Boy Crush(es) of the month Iron Fey Edition: Prince Ash vs. Puck

Who would you choose? The Winter Prince of the Unseelie Court, who is the cold, hard, knight with his broody exterior that is hiding a heart of gold under all that steel armor. Or Puck, aka Robin Goodfellow, who is lighthearted, full of quips and mischief that surely can make almost anyone laugh. We all need a friend like Puck, […]

Mixtape: Timepiece (Hourglass #2)

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in Mixtape | Comments Off on Mixtape: Timepiece (Hourglass #2)

This is my vision for music that enhances and evokes feelings about the book Timepiece (Hourglass #2) by Myra McEntire. Clearly the POV of Kaleb made me think of more male-centric themes of love, loss, daddy issues, and of course ‘ghosts’ and time travel! So here are my selections that scream Timepiece.  Oh and I just couldn’t let a mixtape about […]